Works in Progress part one

Standard

I’m gonna cover my WIP’s that i have done for the quilting course i have been taking , It’s a book called Quilters Academy by Harriet and Carrie Hargrave. I am working my way through Volume One.  It is a fantastic book, and i have learned a ton of stuff and my piecing skills have improved so much since i started this course. 

so here is what i have done so far from the book: note that all of the quilt tops in the book so far do not have borders on them, that comes later in the lessons.

Quilt lessons from Quilters Academy

Winter Wonderland (Sundown)- Done , needs borders, quilting and binding.

Cowboy Corral   (Musical instruments)  needs borders, quilting and binding.


Triple Rail Fence ( Red, white and black) needs borders , quilting and binding


Log Cabin (green, blue and white)  needs borders, quilting and binding.

Class sampler-  lt pink and dk pink – parts 1 & 2 of 3 done.    

      My part one.

Part two in progress, these are my first 4 patch blocks , and they turned out close to perfect!!!

   my first fanning of the seams, man that is the best thing ever! It works slick as a whistle and the seams press nice and flat.  I could have done these all day they were so much fun to do.  when reading about it in the book, i couldnt quite wrap my head around how it work, but soon as i tried it …. well it was pretty much love at first sight LOL

    My four patch perfection as i like to call them.  seriously nothing i have done in quilting so far has turned out so well on the first go round.  I have gotten some pretty good matched seams etc but some of them are re-dos.

  this is what the sampler will look like when done, I thought about using white as the background but may try a dark burgundy or pale pink.

I have been enjoying quilting so much so far, even with some of the frustrations that go with learning a new skill, every mistake i make i learn from, well sometimes it takes a time or 2 before i ” get ” it but i am learning.  I get together with some friends once a week to quilt and gab and have a few laughs too and most of them have been quilting for many years and are also a wealth of information as well.  As well they are very supportive of everything i am doing too.

so next up in the class work is a table runner using 4 patch blocks to expand on what i just learned on the sampler. I have the fabric all ready to go.  the last few weeks the lessons have been more bookwork, learning how to calculate yardage, making mock ups of the pattern with either bits of the fabric or a colour photocopy of it. works great.

As well as doing the lessons from Quilters Academy i did some other things over the winter that i have been trying to get quilted and bound before i get to that part of the book.  so i will have some of those items to show you, as well as a couple of quilt tops i have just made on my own.  and also i have been doing a couple of Blocks of the Months as well , so those need to be shown off as well 🙂  As you can tell i am pretty much hooked on quilting!! 

Probably wont see anything till next week as dh and i are off to see his mom this long weekend. and going to see Beatlemania tomorrow night!!! pretty excited about that as i am a huge Beatles fan, especially my George, may he RIP! 

cheers

Vicki

One response »

  1. Aunt Vicki,

    You are coming along very nicely. I like to call my mistakes – learning experiences! And boy, am I getting a lot of experience! HA HA!

    I look forward to seeing more of your projects, and your progess through the Quilting Academy book!

    -Alice

Leave a Reply

